Polaris 2W-50 ATV oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not a typo. The new Polaris ATV oil recommendation is their 2W-50 synthetic oil. If I'm not mistaken, that's the widest viscosity range of any oil yet? Never heard of such an animal.

Anybody have an idea who could be making this stuff for them?

Have you tried to buy this from a Polaris dealer?

I am no expert on Polaris oil but I was told by someone who says the Polaris dealer told him this.

polaris recently changed recommended oil from 0w-40 to PS4 plus a 0w-50.

Last edited:
Have not tried to buy it, as mine calls for 0W-40. All the guys with 2009's are saying that the manual specifically states "2W-50".

Either way, that's quite a viscosity range. I would be interested in knowing who makes that oil?

Originally Posted By: MinivanMauler
That HAS to be a typo.

The SAE low-temperature grades range from 0W-25W in multiples of 5. Polaris doesn't get to "invent" new grades.

http://www.infineum.com/information/viscosity.html

Yea, I don't know how that could come up with their own special grade of oil

However, they need to hire a new proof reader, as I just looked at the Polaris manual for at 2009 XP. If it's a typo, it was a typo 7 times in the manual that I counted.
grin2.gif

Just for the heck of it I had someone call the local Polaris dealer parts dept and ask for a 2W-50 oil. The guy had no idea what that was. All he would tell us over the phone is that he had all Polaris branded oils in stock and to stop in.

Off course that assumes the person who answered the phone was aware what is in the manuals.