Anybody think yellow fog lights are better

Status
Not open for further replies.
I like this topic. The trend in the auto lighting industry seems to be toward higher color temperature lighting (less red/yellowish and more bluish/violet). I have a graduate degree in physiologic optics and vision science, but I'm still not sure I understand the visual implications of the trend toward higher color temperature. There are so many factors that contribute to how the human visual system perceives the world that it’s hard to predict how the different physical properties of the light translate into actual visual perception. There have been many clinical studies, and a few that are ongoing.

It’s interesting to hear what you guys have to say. Here are a few factors I can think of, some of which were already mentioned:

1) Yellow light scatters less than blue light in the atmosphere (or stated another way, shorter wavelength light scatters more). Why is the sky blue? Why does the sun appear yellow? Why do marksmen and hunters prefer yellow tinted lenses? The answer is because blue light scatters in the atmosphere. Remove blue light and there will be less scatter. In a vacuum the rules are different, but that’s another story.

2) Retinal sensitivity to light varies depending on lighting conditions: The scotopic system (dark adapted, using rods) is used in low light situations and is most sensitive to light in the 505 nm range (yellow-greenish light). The photopic system (light adapted, using cones) is used during the day and is most sensitive to light in the 555 nm range (more greenish). The mesoptic system is a combination of the scotopic and photopic. The mesoptic system is used during low light conditions, like at dusk. I’m not sure how these systems comes into play, but I would think this suggests that per lumen, yellow light is more efficient for human vision AT NIGHT. That being said, you don’t see many people preferentially driving around with yellow-green lights.