Anyone have the guts to try..........0W-20!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sid

Just curious. I had Mobil1 0W-20 in my 2000 Ford Focus at one point. I've also had 5W-20 and 5W-30 and I felt no difference between any of them. no increased gas mileage. Actually the 0W-20 might have felt a BIT smoother. All Motorcraft filters too. I was also running the 0W-20 during summer. That'd probably drive a few people off.

I've been using it my Honda for 2 years. What is the big deal?
dunno.gif

Why would it take guts? I wouldn't hesitate to put a good 0W-20 in my 250 HP V6 dragging our 4000 lb van around. Am I missing something?

XW-20's are putting up some great UOA numbers.

I use M1 0w-20 in my girlfriend's 2004 Focus year round in Arizona with no problems. I'm down to 9qts, so I'm going to have to switch to something else soon-probably M1 5w-20.

If I had unlimited funds, 0w20 M1 would be my oil of choice all year in my Ranger. But since I got a stash of Motorcraft 5w20 for $1.58/qt, that's what I use.

I was just joking since I seem to see a lot of people concerned about 5W-20 putting extra wear on their engine parts let alone using 0W-20 and people worried about using a thinner oil like in the summer and so on. As I said, I've used it and felt little to no difference so I just stick with 5W-20. Was just curious. Do they still make 0W-20? I didn't see it on Mobil1's website.

And you're right I should've done a search on used oil analysis. Totally forgot about that.

Why would you think a 0W-20 automatically would be thinner than a 5W-20 in "summer and so on"? Maybe that's why you got a few brusk answers. A 0W-20 could be constructed to have an almost SAE 30 vis at 100°C, and certainly higher vis than a given nominal 5W-20 at 100°C.
smile.gif

I see your point, the average joe probably would be scared of 0W-20.

A year ago, any xw-20 was "too thin". Heck, I thought a 5w-30 was too thin for Houston heat.