Oil for a Honda CRV

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to BITOG and I wanted people's thoughts on what oils would be best to use in my 2001 Honda CRV. The engine has about 100,000KM on it. The first engine blew up so I don't know exactly how many KM's the new one had when I got it. I'm from Canada so all references to distance will be in kilometers.

With that said I use my vehicle for work driving more than 50,000KM in one year with A LOT of repeated engine starting. During work the engine does not cool between starts. I get paid to use my own vehicle and so I wanted to find the oil that would:

1. Provide good protection for repeated engine starting, stop and go traffic and some construction site driving. I do a lot of highway driving too.

2. Have an extended oil change interval greater than 5000KM (I have been currently using Kendall semi-synthetic 5W30 at 5-6000KM interval.

3. Be cost effective. As in, getting the above at the lowest cost possible.

I have been looking into AMSOIL to get the 15000 mile (24,000KM) OCI. I have worked out some of the math of using AMSOIL compared to what I'm currently using and AMSOIL would cost me almost the same, maybe a little less depending on the exchange rate. I am not biased on oil brand, AMSOIL just happened to be the first bit of research I've done.

First of all welcome. Amsoil is great but in order to get the most miles out of it you need a uoa...just like any oil you use.

I agree with the UOA to start, if for nothing more than a snapshot to assure you have no coolant ingress in the oil.

Amsoil has couple oils that would fit that scenario well. SSO 0W-30, HDD 5W-30 being the top choices....ASL 5W-30 being a bit lower cost choice.

Just curious - how did the first engine blow up?

So are you saying that I should get my current oil analyzed before I switch? O only during using Amsoil?