Valvoline Synpower 5w-30 or Mobile 1 synthetic?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie to the forum I have a 2000 Dodge Neon
2.0L SOHC and it has 77,000 miles which oil is the best, or is there a better oil? I live in North Dakota so it gets very cold. And a brand of oil filter? Thanks!!

I have 2 neons:

98 DOHC mtx w/ 175,000kms
2001 SOHC atx w/74,000kms

Both mine run Mobil 1 5w-30 and a K&N oil filter with OCI at 6month/12,000kms.
My preference is to running an oversize filter on both.(K&N HP-2004 / PH16)

Haven’t tried Castrol myself but from what I’ve heard here it is good stuff.

It gets VERY cold here and the Mobil 1 runs well.

FWIW - This link says that Valvoline Sypower is no longer Group III

http://theoildrop.server101.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=012812;p=2

From JAG :
Bingo! I just called and talked to a guy with a southern accent (did your guy have one too?), and he said all Valvoline Synpower versions use 100% Group IV basestocks. He even gave me NOACK volatilities:
5W-40: 11% (agrees with info I already had)
5W-30: 13% (figured why not ask for fun)
20W-50: 8% (figured why not ask for fun)

I'm taking this news as official and might even make a new thread to announce it because almost everyone thinks these oils are Group III.

Well Id use 0W-30 , Im running 5W-30 right now and get alot of valvetrian noise while it warms up still

that valvetrain noise seems pretty common on neons.

if the valvoline is a group IV then which ever one is easier to get or cheaper get that one. wix, purolator, or pureone filter. they are reasonably priced and are great filters. all castrol syntec, except for the german made 0w30, is a group III

i am trying to get rid of the valvetrain noise on my 04, i am going to use syntec 0w30 (aka gc, thick 30wt) and a 5w40 after that to see how the engine likes it.

bluebird do you know where the valvoline 5w40 is normally available