Selling a deceased parents car

Status
Not open for further replies.
My dad passed away and I am trying to sell his car. Do I sign the title in my name

I'm not a lawyer, but I would guess the car is part of his estate, you will need a copy of the death certificate, then sign the car over to the person. I would probably guess this would be best to do down at your local title/tag office.

You won't want to sign it in your name, you will sign you name, then probably put "executor" next to it.

I think you have to be the his 'personal representative' as determined by a court. I know I had to be before I could claim any assets of my father's.

There are many different situations. Ideally you have been named the executor of your father's estate, and the will states what can be done with the car and other assets of the estate and therefore you can dispose of the car for the estate. However, you probably will need to provide proof of this at the motor vehicle bureau before they will allow you to sign as the executor. Remember, the estate probably now controls everything your father owned and in most states that will require a will to dispense with these things properly, or else a probate court will determine disposition. It is definitely worth checking with the motor vehicle bureau and probably a lawyer too, which you probably will need for other aspects of the estate. I'm not a lawyer--just someone who went through all of this when my Mom died and left a very simple estate with a clear will, etc. Still, it took more than a year to wrap everything up. Best of luck with it all.

Yes, condolences on the loss.

It will vary by state, but here in PA you have to get a letter of executorship from the register of wills. You bring in a death certificate and declare an estimate of the estate. The burial fees and whatnot are charged against it. When all of it is settled, you file a state return. It may, in fact, be negative numbers.