Help Identifying Super Tacky Grease

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPC

I've spent many days now trying to identify this grease on my own. I'm finally throwing in the towel and posting on here asking for help.

I'm not a grease expert, however over the past few days, I've been reading up so much about greases that I feel that I've learned quite a bit.

The grease is aqua green in color. It is extremely tacky and stringy. It is extremely water resistant. I put some of this on my fingers and try washing it off with water and water does absolutly nothing. The grease is still stringy even under water. So I tried some Dawn dishwashing soap, it did absolutely nothing to cut this grease. I ended up just wiping it off with a paper towel. Even after wiping my fingers with a paper towel, if I rub my fingers together, I can still partially feel the lubrication of the grease. It is really tacky stuff.

It has a faint petroleum smell.

It isn't a very thick grease. It is actually fairly thin feeling. To put it insto perspective standard synthetic wheel bearing grease in a tub is a thicker grease.

Once thing that I did notice, is that at room temperature, this grease is extremely tacky & stringy. When I put some on my fingers, and let just the warmth of my fingers bring the grease up to the same temperature or barely rub the grease between my fingers to build some heat, it started to lose its tackiness. This can't be more than about a 20 degree difference in temperature between skin temp & room temp.

However, if at room temperature, I could spread my fingers 2-3 inches apart and the grease still bridging the gap, when the grease increased to skin temperature with a little rubbing between my fingers, I could only get 3/4 to 1 inch of gap before the bridge (stringy) grease would seperate.