stp oil treatment

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have never used stp before,but I have heard that it contains a 50 weight oil and a ton of zinc. So here's my queston. Does this stuff contain detergents or solvents that break down or remove sludge?

Not to my knowledge, and I have used this in the past to thicken my oil. Here are some specs on it:

Viscosity at 40°C: 5200-6340 cSt
Viscosity at 100°C: 250 cSt
Zinc compounds: 10%
Petroleum distillates: 30%
Mineral Oil: 60%

We had a VOA on the STP here at one time.

It's got a lot of viscosity enhancers in it. Just how these things affect the base oil you put it in is beyond me.

I have considered thickening a 50 weight oil for my motorcycle with some STP, since the bike tends to shear every oil I've put in it down to a 40 weight.

But I don't know how much ZDDP it has...

Dan

Originally Posted By: rszappa1
back in the 60s and early 70s STP was part of an oil change for me....

Ya me too...I don't think its needed with todays oils

Originally Posted By: grease_monkey
Does this stuff contain detergents or solvents that break down or remove sludge?

It contains detergents, yes. But not for sludge removal, it is to keep the detergency level in balance with the additional zinc (ZDDP) that you are adding to the oil when you put it in.
It's real intended purpose is to strengthen the oil film and prevent metal-to-metal contact, and in the event of that contact, to add boundary layer lubrication form the boosted zinc compounds.
Probably not really needed, but probably not harmful either. It's sure been a tried product all these years.

PS:
They also make a 4 cylinder formula (red bottle) that according to STP via email, has the same ZDDP content but about half the viscosity numbers. I ordered some to try from Autobarn because no store carries the red bottle around here.