Stihl vs Echo???

Status
Not open for further replies.
What's your flavor? I've been using Echos for a couple of years now, but my main string trimmer is on it's last leg. I'm looking at either heading back to an Echo or branching over to Stihl. Price isn't really an issue, but I need something that will take a beating. I do 5-7 large properties per week.

Typically, Stihl has a much better dealer network than Echo does. Many Echos are sold in hardware stores like HD, by temporary workers who don't know much of anything about 2 cycle equipment( or anything else for that matter ). Next time you go there, check to see how many chain saw chains have been installed backwards on the display saws!! :) That's a favorite pastime of mine lol

I suggest the Stihl FS 90 or the FS 130. Each is available in a loop handle version or a bike handle version, not sure which you want. If you want to multi task, take a look at Stihl's KM system of tools.

I guess my biggest question is if the echo stuff in lower grades, eg the stuff you might find at home depot is of long-lasting quality the way that echo's typical stuff was.

I may be wrong, but it seems that Stihl offers a consistent, high quality product. Echo doestoo, unless something like hd saleshurts the product.

We bought ours at the local shop, but our leaf blower/vac is the same as sold at HD. It has been great, no issues and a fairly high amount of use...

Doing 5-7 large properties per week, I concur with hate2work for his selection. It is hard to beat the professional line of Stihl products.

Originally Posted By: hate2work

Typically, Stihl has a much better dealer network than Echo does. Many Echos are sold in hardware stores like HD, by temporary workers who don't know much of anything about 2 cycle equipment( or anything else for that matter ). Next time you go there, check to see how many chain saw chains have been installed backwards on the display saws!! :) That's a favorite pastime of mine lol