obd code reader

Status
Not open for further replies.
Its my first post so take it easy on me.

I have a 04 honda civic and i'd like to get a code reader. What would you recomend? I'd love to have a fancy laptop job but i don't want to spend that much.
Thanks in advance,
Greg

Scanguage II can read codes AFAIK. it is pretty "basic" but gives lots of information and other useful things.

Originally Posted By: crinkles
Scanguage II can read codes AFAIK. it is pretty "basic" but gives lots of information and other useful things.

The gauge function look pretty cool. I'm a boat engineer and i'm used to looking at gauges all day long. I kinda miss them in my car and truck. For less than $200 is it hard to use? I'm thinking why spend 100 on the basic reader and then install real gauges for a nother 100 when i could just use this. Thanks,
Greg

Group buys for that scangauge lowers the price dramatically. I use it on four or five different vehicles, because it is easy to use and accurate. There are many other options, but that is an easy, good one.

Will it read all codes? I have the factory service manual to decode, just nothing to read with.

I am looking at the $240 US Innova 3160 which can read live streaming data, be updated by PC, display captured data on PC (limited duration) and read ABS/transmission codes for domestics.

Last edited by a moderator:
Originally Posted By: 94supraonchrome
I've got the Actron CP9180, bought it new on Ebay a couple of years ago. I like it, easy to use, pc compatible, good price.

I got the CP9185 read live streaming data, be updated by PC, display captured data on PC ,good cheap little scanners does what a DIYer needs nothing more,updatable via the web too.

Originally Posted By: MGregoir
Will it read all codes? I have the factory service manual to decode, just nothing to read with.