Good oil for Vortec 5.7 Litre?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did a quick search on this forum & didn't find much about this GM motor.

We just bought a used 1996 GMC Automatic, with 5.7 Vortec motor and 127,000 original miles. I am new to this engine.

Any recommendations on a good oil for this motor? Apparently it takes 5w30.

GL

Mine loved 5w30 in winter 10w30 in summer. My brother has too that get 10w30 all year. His both have over 200k on the clock.

My friend uses conventional 5W-30 in his '99 5.7 GMC truck (carryover from 1998, it's a Sierra Classic). He used to just get it done at Wal-Mart that uses Valvoline conventional but I used Quaker State in it last time he had me change it. Runs perfectly, has about the same amount of mileage as your '96, too. I would use your Havoline 5W-30 without hesitation.

I'm using Havoline in both of my 98 chevy trucks. One with the 5.7L and one with the 7.4L. I've had the 98 5.7L truck since new and have used 5W-30 Havoline in it for the last six or seven years and have been happy with it. I wish Walmart was still carrying it.

Wayne

Originally Posted By: wtd
I'm using Havoline in both of my 98 chevy trucks. One with the 5.7L and one with the 7.4L. I've had the 98 5.7L truck since new and have used 5W-30 Havoline in it for the last six or seven years and have been happy with it. I wish Walmart was still carrying it.

Wayne

Our local WalMart just discontinued Havoline as well. Not happy! I thought it could have been a marketing thing. Are they dropping it nationally?