Who makes Hankook, general impressions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is Hankook independent or are these a subsidiary of another company? Anybody have any long term experience with these?

They are made in S. Korea, I have no first hand experience with any of their products.

I used their Mileage Plus GT tires on my old Altima for 2 years. Long tread life but really poor for grip, especially in the snow/wet weather...

One of my co-workers purchased a set of 4 before winter last year. By January he returned the tires for something else because there was no grip in more than an inch of snow.

Last edited:
They are OEM tires on the ford f150..

I put a set on the misses sunfire the optimo's this past summer. They are a good tire so far.

For the price I would buy another set.

I'm running 16" Hankook IceBear I 300 right now. Great handling for a snow, but not a deep snow tire, more of a sport snow. At least I can use them as all-seasons after they are worn down. For deep snow, the I-406 has worked very well for the people I know who used it. I dunno if Hankook is my 1st pick, but of the price is right...

We're running the I-Pike W-409's on a number of vehicles; I've heard no complaints so far, and we've dealt with a good bit of ice/snow here so far this year. They're a bit less expensive than our other winter tire of choice, the Firestone WinterForce.

Brother #1 has 'em on his Lincoln Town Car, and Bro. #2 has a set of the RW07's on his Jeep Grand Cherokee. Bro. #1 is VERY picky, and, if he's satisfied, they must be okay.

What I can't figure out is why they don't have their tires studded.
54.gif
It's been a very icy winter so far, and the studded Firestone WinterForce's on my Expedition have done a great job.
thumbsup2.gif