"refurbishing" my PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have an IBM Thinkcentre desktop. It is now 3.5 years old. I was considering buying a new computer (most likely Apple Mac) but the last few days I think I need to be a bit more spendthrifty.

I have been removing unused programmes etc, to try and give it a spring clean. I am defragmenting now (overnight), and will also remove the old files when I get an external hard drive (and defragment again).

What is the best way to increase the performance.

It has
Celeron D about 2.4 GHz
512 MB RAM,
no seperate video card
80 GB hard drive.

So I am thinking of getting up to 1.5 GB more memory if my case can supprot it, I have no idea? How do I go about checking this.

I am also going to buy external HDD, one to expand the current hard drive space, and a larger one for backups.

Is installing RAM hard to do? I am a newbie with working with computers.

Another stick of ram (512mb-1gig) would be really cheap. If you shopped around, you could probably find one for 15-20 bucks. That's about all I would do to that older computer to stretch some life out of it before I went out and upgraded to a new one.

More RAM will get you the most bang for the buck. It is probably the easiest upgrade to do as well.

http://www.crucial.com/#

Go to a website like this and it can scan your system and give you upgrade options. Most of the memory sellers have something similar. Either by scanning your system or you just tell it what system you have. Scanning is nice because it will tell you what you already have installed if you don't already know.

I would seriously consider going to 2GB if possible. 1GB would be an improvement but 2GB is even better. I have XP on all my computers and upgrading beyond 1GB is quite noticable.