need a good oil bypass set up for a 06 5.9 cummins

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 06 2500 Ram with the 5.9 cummins.I was looking at the amsoil set up but its about $200 by time your done.whats a good alternative?
Richard

the Amsoil is the best value on the market if you look at the ease and cost of maintenance. There are many brands on the market.Why do you need a bypass filter?

I'd put a big filter on that engine myself. A LF750 housing with either a good off the shelf filter or use paper towels. Mount the filter in front of the rear axle between the bed side and the frame.

The Motor Gaurd and Frantz filters are good, but a bit on the small side for that baby Cummins. Be nice if there was a nice housing that was between the MG and the LF750.

The FS2500 seems to be popular with the Diesel Pickup guys, I have no personal experience with them however so I can't really say how effective they are.

Originally Posted By: Steve S
the Amsoil is the best value on the market if you look at the ease and cost of maintenance. There are many brands on the market.Why do you need a bypass filter?

STEVE ... Why do you even bother coming to this forum???
The only in put you ever have is : Don't waste you time with a bypass...just change your oil on a regular schedule..
Move on ..go to another forum ..your complaint is getting very old
frown.gif

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1283838#Post1283838

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1270251&nt=3&fpart=1

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1261855&fpart=2

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1250504&gonew=1#UNREAD

I checked 6 threads and came up with 4 slams from you

Last edited:
There are very good reasons to put on a bypass filter system.

There are very bad reasons to put on a bypass filter system.