Thoughts On Synthetic 20wt. In Extreme Heat>?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not of for cars, but for carbon based life forms that get their cooling from evaporation it can be downright miserable.
shocked2.gif

Originally Posted By: SonyAD
I'm by no means an expert but I wouldn't use a w30 weight oil in my car. Let alone a w20. Let alone in a gasser, which runs hotter.

Why doesn't Ford recommend a 0w20? Why a 5w20?

Strange beliefs.

The reason for 5W is/was based on the fact Ford/Honda/others knew 0w-20 would be quite rare and synthetic blend could make 5W-20.

The post earlier about hair splitting is right on.

There just isn't a huge difference in viscosity between a typical 5W20 and a typical 5W30... a fact that could be used by both sides of the argument, I guess. I think that's why so many manufacturers didn't have any trouble changing the recommendations on engines that were originally designed/spec'ed for a 30. If you look through the UOAs, however, you see that the gap narrows further as many 30s lose viscosity over time and miles. Overall, 5W20s seem to hold their grade better, so your 30 may be a 20 by the time you're 2/3 of the way to oil change time but your 20 has stayed pretty near it starting viscosity. That may be another factor used by the OEs in their recommendations.

Originally Posted By: Jim Allen
The post earlier about hair splitting is right on.

There just isn't a huge difference in viscosity between a typical 5W20 and a typical 5W30...

Yes, the actual spread between most 20s and most 30s is less than the spread allowed within the 30 spec.

If you took the thick half of the 20 spec, the thin half of the 30 spec and called it SAE 25, most existing 20 and 30 weights would fall withing the new 25 spec and in turn reduce the number of posts on BITOG
grin2.gif

Originally Posted By: 02zx9r
what dnewton said. run it with confidence and have no worries