Better driver today?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes.. I have a bigger voice in my head to slow down, speed up, shut up do this do that.. selective hearing is kicking in but I might have to resort to duct tape..

Yes, considering I only had my permit for 4 months back then. But I'm a better driver now than I was even two years ago. Of course occasionally I still do crazy and stupid stuff.

Yes and No:

Yes - I am more careful and drive slower, less aggressive.
No - I can't handle driving a 500 mile trip on Friday night and another 500 mile trip on Sunday night back, every other week, anymore.

Certainly not as good as I was 10 years ago (at 30), and not as good as I was 5 years ago, but in a different way.

With children, I try to be more careful, which is better but distraction mean that I do silly inattentive mistakes.

XS650 has it ..but left off the other half

Most of us are safer drivers after we get a certain age. We're better when we're more reckless. Our making it this far with some of the stuff we pulled off is testimony to our superior abilities.

Then again, a few of us are here by pure dumb luck (or your personal "stay out of heaven - I'm not through with you yet" card)

Yes,

I go slower and don't take it personally anymore. I still try to drive well, think of others, look ahead, etc.

The last ticket I got was in 2001 or 2002, IIRC.

I hope I haven't jinxed that. I rarely speed anymore, and before it was highway only. I really can't stand speeding in urban driving. Too many things can go wrong with no where to go in town.

I drive far less....so I must be a far less driver....