Comfort Bicycle

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: mpvue
Originally Posted By: built
Sounds interesting Schmoe, what is the name of it ?

How hard is it guys to buy a off the rack wally world bike and adjust it back correctly, I bet a bike shop would sneer at me if i brought it in for adjusting.

most likley you would sneer at them when they tell you how much it'll cost. putting tires, tubes, cables and a chain on an abused neglected wallyworld bike will cost more than the original price, you'll throw it out, buy another one, and the bike shop guy knows you would have been better off getting a better bike to start with.

bike techs get no respect. I worked as a mechanic for 15 years and I have seen it all. I have saved many a dept store bike.
but everyone needs to know this:
WAL MART BIKES S U C K !
trust me on this, you GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. I know, everyone has the same argument, it's fine for what I'm doing w/ it, I'm not racing, blah blah blah. but do yourself a favor and try out a real bike at an independent bike shop.

I totally agree. I gave away a walmart bike this year, thus far the new owner hasn't asked for payment just for taking it off my hands. It was seriously crummy. My Raleigh single speeds believe it or not are faster then the 18 speed I gave away. Me and my wife with baby in tow can run away from the 14 year old I gave the bike too.

Good bikes don't have to cost allot. The Raleighs were about $250 or so. The bike shop also had a fenderless version that was easy to ride and rode just as nice for $150-160 or so. We just prefered the Raleighs so that's what I bought. The shop owner said the expensive bikes just don't sell in our area so he doesn't have any beach style cruisers over $250-300.

Go to a bike shop and just take a test ride on different bikes to see what you like. You cannot do that at walmart.

Made by Next, La Jolla model.