Genuine Mercruiser oil - or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
You'll have to forgive me on this one - I have zero experience with marine engines. This is a new Mercruiser which was purchased by a neighbor. 4-stroke I/O and looks a little like an outboard motor with the lid off. Well, sorta. Pretty sure it's a V-6. He says that the Genuine Mercruiser motor oil is $40 a gallon and wanted to know if there was an alternative. Heck, I don't know.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks.

HDEO oil works well for most any use.
Stick with the recommended weights.
Merc doesn't care much for full synthetic oil, so bare that in mind.
Rotella is reasonably priced, and the synthetic (blue jug) is considered very good stuff; though the conventional (white jug) maybe just the ticket for your neighbor's engine.

You generally don't need a synthetic in a marine engine. As previously stated, Mercury seems to agree. The bigger issues are fuel and water dilution/contamination and shear down.

If it's an I/O, then a conventional HDEO in a straight weight or 15w-40 usually works well, even in the newer engines. If it must be a synthetic at palatable cost, then M1 15w-50 may still be a good alternative. I'm still leery of running a 5w-40 HDEO synthetic in a marine engine.

If it's still under warranty, be sure to stay within the recommended viscosity ranges so there isn't a claim problem. I haven't looked at their warranty booklet lately, but Mercury may also now require FC-W compliant oils. I think the FC-W is not that big a deal, but I'm not the one deciding warranty claims.

If it's a new four stroke outboard, all bets are off, and he should stick with the manufacturer's recommendations.

right from the Sea Horse's mouth
read the last line. says it all.
$20k boat and $6 propulsion unit, don't get cheap on the oil.

http://www.mercurymarine.com/serviceandwarranty/mercruiserfaqs/fueloil.php
What type of oil should I use? Can I use synthetic oil?

Engine Oil