Question on Lucas Upper Cyl. Lubricant Fuel Add?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using Lucas Upper Cylinder Lubricant for the last 1-2 years on my two cars. Just wondering if this is considered to be a decent product. I like the reasoning behind it's intended use, but I really don't have much information to go by other than the manufacturer's advertisement. Couple questions. Firstly, is there any harm in running this product in a turbo engine setup, I'm concerned because it seems to be more of an oily substance rather than a solvent. Secondly, I occassionaly get a puff of white smoke on start up (on my non-turbo vehicle) when my fuel tank level gets low and after using a treatment of this stuff. I don't know if this product is heavier than fuel and settles at the bottom of the tank. Is this any cause for concern ?. I know this stuff burns off as white smoke as one time I poured a bit into an open intake manifold system while I was changing out my spark plugs, and she burned off huge clouds of white smoke that time. I get really good fuel economy on both of my vehicles and low oil consumption, but I can't really atribute it to this product despite running it for a decent period of time. I'm skeptical about it's claim of increasing the burning power of combustion chamber fuel. Any opinions on this product would be good to know. thanks

Joey

Last edited:
I agree. I also asked an oil testing house and they said, skip it........

JSRT4,

I use it every week in both me cars and achieve better performance compared to not using it. Yes I too get a small puff of white smoke too sometimes but who cares as long as it's not oil. What it's made of I can't say but the benifits out way the negatives.

Durango