Adding drain plug to trans pan?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a pipefitter/welder by trade.I tig weld a 1/4" TOL (thread- o- let)inside the pan and use a 1/4" plug for the drain.
34.gif

If you decide to use one of these B&M type kits, replace the nylon washers with copper oil drain plug washers. They will seal tightly without welding and won't break down over time like the nylon washers do. If you get one of the kits with the bolt plug, you can get another copper washer for that size to supplement the o-ring seal as well.

Originally Posted By: NYSteve
Not sure with the clearance on your pans but this is what I used on my old Caprice. Worked perfect.

B&M Drain Pan Kit

I have installed a "pop-nut" in mine. its just an m10 but i´l do if you take a coffebreak or a beer while its draining. drilled the hole and smeard some gasket sealer on it befor install.

Originally Posted by Kestas
I don't like the kits. For the one I bought they use pipe thread and o-ring for sealing. The o-ring gets horribly mushed.

Lucky for me I have a box full of drain plugs with the rubber seal integrated into it. (They were test parts tossed after evaluation.) I also have a bunch of matching nuts. After drilling the hole in the pan I braze a nut on the hole for my drain setup.

If the DIYer has access to brazing, all they have to do is buy one of these drain plugs and braze the proper nut onto the hole for a robust drain plug - better than the kit.

Easy enough to buy a brass 3/8 female pipe coupler, drill hole thru pan side and braze it into the steel pan or even solder it on. Either make hole big enough to pass through the entire diameter of the female pipe fitting or just surface braze it. Then use NPT pipe plug with teflon tape to seal it.

The brass coupling could be face brazed on the outside of the side of the pan, so nothing would interfere with anything on the inside of the trans.
I would NOT stick this thing on the bottom of the pan.

Last edited: