Novice Here Seeking Input

Status
Not open for further replies.

=

I recently came across this forum, ...I am enjoying the many, many topics and discussions.

This topic has probably been discussed and hashed and hashed before, but if I may beg your indulgences once again. Here's what I am thinking of doing:

I have a 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 pickup, 4.7L, V-8 Magnum, auto. tranny w/ 106K+ miles on it. I have always used a quality, non-synthetic oil since I purchased the truck. I regularly change the oil and filter around 3,500 - 4,500 mile mark. I add a full quart of Marvel Mystery Oil to every oil change. The truck holds 6 quarts, I put 5 qts. of oil and 1 qt. of MM oil in. The theory / advertising is that the MM oil will help to prevent deposits throughout the oil distibution system, which in turn will reduce friction, wear, temps., blah, blah, blah. I also add the MM oil to the fuel tank when filling up ( 4 ounces per 10 gals. ) reduces the deposits on the fuel injectors, helps keep the entire fuel system clean, blah, blah, blah.

With gas prices being what and where they are, I am trying to improve my gas mileage by going to a synthetic oil. I still plan to change the oil and filter around the 4,000 mile mark.

QUESTION # 1: If I go ahead and switch to the synthetic oil, do I still need to add the MM oil to the synthetic oil for the purposes listed above?

QUESTION # 2: Do any of you use the MM oil in either type of application?

Thanks for your input, opinions and conjecture. All comments are welcome! :)

=

Marvel Mystery Oil is a substance called Stoddard Solvent. It's used in a lot of cheaper fuel injector cleaners and there is no harm in running it through your fuel, but running it in your oil greatly thins out the oil and boils off as you drive. I am sure the engine is clean but the MMO is detrimental to the protection the oil in your engine can offer.