Adding drain plug to trans pan?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I now have 3 vehicles with sealed transmissions. I've had flush/fills done on them, but would like to drain/fill from now on at a more frequent intervals. Dropping the pan seems like a PITA rather than unscrewing a plug (especially for a novice like me).

Is it possible to add a drain plug to the ATF pan? All 3 seem to be pretty slim profile pans, so maybe there is not enough internal clearance. What a wonderful engineering decision to eliminate the drain plug!

The 3 vehicles in question are in my sig... Thanks!

Napa also sells a kit just like the B&M. I've never used either, but lots of owners have had good luck with those. An aftermarket pan with a drain already added or a welded in drain would be your most leak-proof setup.

Last edited:
Installed the B&M kit on an old LTD. Worked well. Got to say, after a few drain and fills, that thing shifted like new. Installation was really easy and i'm no mechanic.

I typically drill my pans and tig weld the nut part of the B&M style to the pan. I then put some teflon paste on the bolt that threads through (only 1/2 way up the threads from the part that is outside of the pan) to ensure there aren't any surprises. I did one conversion before I had my welder and it started leaking after a year. That teflon washer is pretty good, but a few drips here and there still came out and it [censored] me off. Drain PLUGS ARE AWESOME in automatic transmissions. I about cried when I got under my new F150 to change the oil and saw the factory pan already had a drain plug!
25.gif