What grease for mower spindles?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What does everyone use? I have been using Mystic JT-6 for several years, just wondering if there is any other "off the shelf" grease that would be better, like Green grease etc...?

Last edited:
What, nobody grease's their blade spindles?
21.gif

Well, I happen to use Valvoline Multi-Purpose grease, which is an NLGI #2 grade lithium complex grease. It is red in color. But I don't think it matters much what you use as long as you grease periodically. I do it about every 25 hours.

Hmmmm... are we talking wheel spindles or mower blade spindles here??

if it's blade spindles you may want to use somthing else then
238 in there, i thought were talking front wheel spindle??

Originally Posted By: daman
Hmmmm... are we talking wheel spindles or mower blade spindles here??

if it's blade spindles you may want to use somthing else then
238 in there, i thought were talking front wheel spindle??

I'm talking about the blade spindles..Anyone use Green Grease?

I have been using mobile one grease. Says its for ball joints ect so I figured it was ok. I only do it once each year and so far so good.

Funny you should ask about mower spindles.

Many years ago, Dad had a International Cub Low-Boy tractor ... 1967 (I believe) with a 4-cylinder gas ... driving a deck with 3 blades. I used a generic (Zep?) #2 grease ... but it wouldn't stay in the worn bearings. Wow, what a racket they made! I forget exactly what it would do, but I knew I needed a heavier grease for the old beast. My Dad had a special grease for his Model A Ford water pump ... had the consistency of jellied cranberry sauce ... but even thicker. I tried it in the International.

After I engaged the deck, the blades sounded like a helicopter spooling up for take-off. Veerrryyy slow at first, but then they finally picked up speed and the mower worked fine. It was still pretty funny at the time.