Engineering... Drexel vs Rutgers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I will be going to college this fall and of the schools I got accepted to, My top two choices are Rutgers (new brunswick/piscataway) and Drexel. I was wondering what were people's thoughts on the schools? I got a substantial scholarship from drexel, which means the costs are fairly close to one another.

Strictly from an educational/employment standpoint, what are everybodys thoughts on the quality of the programs? How are these schools regarded in the professional world? Is one considered any better than the other?

One thing that kind of concerns me is that Drexel makes co-op's part of their experience, which isnt necessarily true with Rutgers. Could any engineers/engineering grads chime in on the matter? I am having a difficult time choosing between the two schools. Both schools have their pro's and cons and I wont say that I like one much more than the other.

Thanks
Jim

I have no experience with either school (North Dakota State University Electrical Engineer here), but you might want to specify what type of engineering. Usually a difference in quality of the program between types (mechanical, electrical, civil, industrial, chemical, etc).

In general I would say that what school you attended *maybe* only matters for your first job. After that, years experience take precedence over which school. I will say Co-ops are a huge help once you get a full time job. Gives you a sense of what to expect. Although Rutgers doesn't require it, you could probably find one anyway and have the same benefit.

Just my 2 cents

I work for the Navy in Philadelphia. We get Drexel Co-ops and many of my coworkers were co-ops at one time. It is a good program, and Drexel engineering isnt a bad program overall. Philadelphia is a great place to live, too.

I agree with MidnightG35x, companies and grad schools will recognize certain names/advisors over others. So it depends what program you want to get into...

JMH