My New 2008 Ford GT Mustang ' BULLITT' Oil Change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Guys (Newbie here)

Just bought an outrageous 2008 Ford Mustang GT BULLITT. Limited
addition. 7,700 only made. Seven Hundred are going to Canada.
The other 7,000 stay in the U.S.A.

TWO (2) QUESTIONSPLEASE.

1. The manual for my car says my first oil change is at: 7,500 miles.Isn't that a bit MUCH to go that long without an oil change?

2. What do you guys think about RED LINE OIL ?

THANKS GUYS
BLESS U GUYS

Schooner
cool.gif

Congratulations on the new car, try to keep it between the ditches.

Personally, on new motor I dump the oil and filter around 500 miles.

A 7500 mile OCI schedule is not in the best interest of engine longevity in my opinion, especially for a hi-perf motor that may see some hard use.

Originally Posted By: Rock_Hudstone
Personally, on new motor I dump the oil and filter around 500 miles.

That's some good advise right there.
thumbsup2.gif

Oil is like bandages; they're both fairly inexpensive, but need to be kept clean.

7500 miles is fine for the factory fill. There's no concrete evidence that changing oil sooner for the first service will lead to longer engine life.

7500 is a very "average length" oil change interval, and has been for more than a decade. It's just that many service stations have misinformed consumers and convinced them that more often is truly necessary.

I would stick with a conventional 5w-20 oil. There's really no need for a synthetic oil unless this is your track vehicle. I assume that the engine in this model is the same as any other Mustang GT?

Originally Posted By: ]The Critic
There's no concrete evidence that changing oil sooner for the first service will lead to longer engine life.

I guess a magnetic drain plug after the first 500 miles might have a story to tell.
grin2.gif