Advantages of using SAE 30?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pretty simple question: why do most small engines require SAE 30 oil instead of regular 5w-30 or 10w-30? I know they say 5w-30 and 10w-30 is recommended in cold temperatures because they flow better, but couldn't I just use it in higher temps too? Why even bother with the SAE 30?

the simple answer is most small engines are manufactured by briggs and stratton and they recommend sae 30 honda on the other hand recommend 10w-30 and you could also note that honda branded oil in australia is api sg a classification which is way out of date [superceded by api sh in jan 1996]so i would say there is no reason that you could not use 10w-30 or even 5w-30 i have been using 5w-30 for over 2 years

The conventional wisdom was than non multi grade oils did not have certain additives that would break down. Viscosity index improvers and maybe pour point depressants are additives that could break down under the high heat of an air cooled engine.

The result was an oil that retains it's viscosity.

Aircraft air cooled engines are similar. Typically, a single viscosity oil is used, such as Aeroshell 100 (50W).

Here in Florida, dino and multi grade users had far more generator failures after the hurricanes. Guess what part failed in nearly every case? The aluminum connecting rod. The oil was nearly always filled with aluminum metalic flakes for many hours before it finally quit.

Users of M1 15-50 synthetic had nearly "zero" oil related failures from what I can determine.

****, and others:

Indication of "SAE30" does not imply dino. I'm hardly shocked that B&S would find that any synthetic would work better than dino. What it does mean is that no VIIs are in the oil - synthetic or dino. The advantage is that there are no VIIs to shear down during the OCI.

Good synthetic stock SAE30s will have the same VI as multi-grade dino oils achieve with the use of VIIs.