transmission service on my silverado

Status
Not open for further replies.
getting ready to do a flush, new filter and fluid change on my silverado 1500. i do some light towing/hauling with it on occasion. i'm considering using mobil 1 synthetic atf. i'll probaly do the rear axle also. plan on using mobil 1 75w-90 gear oil. any comments good or bad on the mobil 1 atf? i've never used it before and am a little curious about it. my truck is a 2 wheel drive.

Be sure and read the owner's manual for the correct rear diff fluid. The tranny's are very particular, unless the manual says it's ok to use anything else, I would stick with the Dexron like the above poster said.

I would order some Amsoil ATF. Their website will tell you exactly what ATF you need, but I assume its their normal synthetic ATF. Then throw on a Magnefine filter and the tranny should last a long long time. I assume you are going to do a flush by pulling the lines going to the cooler? I would order a few extra quarts of ATF so you know you got all the old stuff out.

The transmission likely calls for Dex III, I've used the Mobil-1 ATF in my 05 Grand Prix and it worked great.
It's synthetic and equal to the newer Dex VI which is a blend.
The trans. pan gasket is re-useable so treat it carefully.
Unfortunately, Mobil-1 ATF is only available in quarts. Never seen it in gallons.

I recently changed the transmission fluid in my neighbor's 03 Silverado with 50K. Changing the filter was nearly impossible, there's a crossover exhaust pipe that goes under the pan. The best I could do was drop the pan a few inches, slip out the old filter and slip in a new one. I couldn't clean the pan and magnet.

I believe it took me 14 qts until I was satisfied the fluid flushed out was clear.

Originally Posted By: Kestas