Ubuntu 22.04 is out

Are there many changes?
No real show-stoppers. The Desktop Environments in the various flavours are all updated from 2 years ago; the (default) Gnome is now on version 42 and that's got a few cosmetic changes, some of which seem pretty cool. More info here: https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2022/01/ubuntu-22-04-release-features

Given that Ubuntu, unlike other stability-driven distros, updates some applications (most notably Firefox; Chrome and other apps installed from their respective vendors will update anyhow) then there's nothing to lose by remaining on a supported version, currently 18.04 LTS (supported until 2023), 20.04 LTS (supported until 2025) and 21.10 (supported until a little later this year).

I've been running the Beta for a couple of months now with no issues and will be updating all the desktops I oversee in the coming days. The servers I will take more slowly!

Sounds pretty good, but I see it's not listed as a stable version just yet, I'll wait a while.
I'm running 20.04 stable, but still have some issues with the right click menus in Chrome.
Thanks for the links though! I appreciate your post.

Newbie question. What’s the point using Ubuntu vs Mac OS or windows? Is it a hobby thing where you can tinker with the OS to your liking?

Thanks for the tip UC... just went in and changed my upgrade settings so I just moved to the next stable version, 21.10
As to Owen's question, Ubuntu is only a "hobby thing" for those that wish to spend their time working in terminal mode, which is very useful. But it's like learning coding and another language at the same time, not for me.
tHE reason I use it is:
#1, it's free except for the donations you send (like Wikipedia).
#2, It does everything you need it to do. Such as email, web, searches and all. ( NO crashes of any kind)
#3, It's pretty secure, since it is not as widely used, there's not much money in hacking it.