Should you turn off gas between using Mower?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: old1
I have found for my self that adding a double dose of any of the gasoline stabilizers, then filling the tank FULL and then running the engine a few minutes to get the stabilizer into the carb. seems to do the trick for me and my customers. Just my 2 cents.

Absolutely, 100% solid advice. I've been doing this for several years and have not a carb problem. I use to have a ton of problems before I learned this trick.

Originally Posted By: bubbatime
Originally Posted By: old1
I have found for my self that adding a double dose of any of the gasoline stabilizers, then filling the tank FULL and then running the engine a few minutes to get the stabilizer into the carb. seems to do the trick for me and my customers. Just my 2 cents.

Absolutely, 100% solid advice. I've been doing this for several years and have not a carb problem. I use to have a ton of problems before I learned this trick.

That's the method recommended by Briggs in their newer manuals. It says that if you use stabilizer, store them wet and full.

Originally Posted By: itguy08

That's the method recommended by Briggs in their newer manuals. It says that if you use stabilizer, store them wet and full.

My new Honda HRR recommends anything over 3 weeks the carb should be run dry. Over 3 months run the whole tank dry.
Manual page 19

Originally Posted By: LotI
Originally Posted By: itguy08

My new Honda HRR recommends anything over 3 weeks the carb should be run dry. Over 3 months run the whole tank dry.
Manual page 19

Interesting. Guess there is no agreement among manufacturers. So I'd say do what the manual or their website says.