Edge 5w30 causes noise???

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did an oil change today on my 08 ford ranger with the 4L sohc v6 today. Out came Boss Lubricants Synthetic ZR-1 5w30 with wix filter and in went castrol edge 5w30 (black bottle)with wix filter. When I started it up I noticed a dramatic increase in engine noise. I took it on the highway for about a 6 mile run to bring engine to temp and parked in the driveway, noise was still there. I drained the Edge and put in some new Boss synthetic 5w30 and the engine was quite as a mouse. As a bit of a newbie here i am sure everyone has the specs on the Edge, and the specs on the Boss can be viewed by google search of Boss Lubricants. I am wondering if anyone has had this issue before or has any idea what would cause this. Engine is pristine, regular dealer serviceing under 70,000km. Just curious is all, is the 4L sohc that particular about its oil? Thanks to all on this, its wierd.

forgot to add, i had talked to a rep at the head office of Boss and he said that they use PAO in their syn line, but they can tell me anything i wouldnt know, i have found a shop local and they will do a virgin oil test, if anyone is interested i will post the results when i get them, 20L of this stuff for around $100 not bad up in these parts.

Last edited:
I wouldn't hesitate to use Boss stuff. Some of my suppliers kind of look down their noses at it, calling it a discount oil. Well, that may be, but part of that discount is from not spending hundreds of millions in advertising.

A little off topic, but [censored]! I was just perusing their website and they look like the kind of companies we used to have here in the U.S.

I wish they sold it here, I'd use it. Looks like good stuff.